Egg Harbor Township

Egg Harbor Township is a township in Atlantic County, New Jersey, United States. Egg Harbor Township includes the communities of Bargaintown (the seat of government), English Creek, Scullville (formerly Jeffers), Steelmanville, Cardiff, part of McKee City, Farmington and West Atlantic City. The Shore Mall is a regional mall, opened in 1968, located on U.S. Route 40 / U.S. Route 322.

Egg Harbor Township was first mentioned as part of Gloucester County in records dating back to March 20, 1693, and at times was called New Weymouth. Great Egg Harbor got its name from Dutch explorer Cornelius Jacobsen Mey. In 1614, Mey came upon the inlet to the Great Egg Harbor River. The meadows were so covered with shorebird and waterfowl eggs that he called it “Eieren Haven” (Egg Harbor).Egg Harbor Township (along with Hamilton and Galloway Townships) has been designated a growth area by the New Jersey Pinelands Commission and is therefore currently experiencing heavy development.

The Egg Harbor Township Schools serve public school students in grades K through 12. Schools in the district are Davenport Complex, Slaybaugh Complex and H. Russell Swift School with 467 students for grades PreK-3, Dr. Joy D. Miller School, Alder Avenue Middle School, Fernwood Avenue Middle School along with Egg Harbor Township High School.



Local Information
Education API paramenters [key] for function schoolSearch() were not found. Please check the Plugin Settings.